In the Pursuit of Happiness…

For whatever reason recently, I have been trying to figure out love and relationships.  It has been the over ruling thought of my mind since I have graduated high school eight years ago.  I like to claim I am a non-emotional person, but I really am.  I try not to show too much in the way of emotions, but my Latino blood boils me to show various emotions that override any stereotypical law of being a man (and therefore not showing emotion) and the fact that I pride myself in having a decent degree of logic engrained in myself.

But still, all in all, I like being in a relationship.  That doesn’t mean I have to always be in one, but I love love.  I love to love and be loved in return.  Pretty sure a good chunk of people on the planet do (or at I would like to naively think so at least).

In evaluating love and what I want, I can easily tell you what I would like at the evening years of my life.  I would like to be like many couples that I have talked to and witnessed firsthand in life and across the world.  I would like to have lived happily married, knowing that a good chunk of my midlife will be in crisis (and maybe hers too), but that the beginning of our relationship was happy for many years, and that the end of our lives end the same too – sandwiching the bad between “slices” (preferably thick slices) of good times.  Where we will hold hands, smile like no other, and even in our 60’s, 70’s, and however long we share the Earth together, simply live.  Living is what we as humans should do, but very few actually do.  When you live, life is great.  When you live, you’re happy.  And when you live, you love.  That’s what I want.

The question is, ten attempted relationships later, how do you get there?  How do you get that?  How do you know?  When do you know?  The answer, of course, is you don’t.  You won’t know until you made it that you really did make it.

However, there is one thing to help keep everything good.  Throughout my experiences in dating, and from witnessing others, is that things get boring, if you let it get so.  One of the many reasons for things “getting boring,” in my opinion, is that we stop dreaming.  Many of us dream of sharing our lives with someone.  But once you can share, you are like, “okay, what’s the next thing?”  The dream is over before it is ever really accomplished.

I have yet to try this so this is unproven, but it is my theory.  By continually keeping dreams alive, and always dreaming, the excitement of life will always be there.  You have to be hungry (and thirsty) for life and love.  If you are never satisfied, if you want more from life, things shouldn’t get boring.  So keep living and keep loving.  Stay hungry (and thirsty) my friends.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Lifestyle, Opinion, Random / Aside and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I understand what you’re saying. I haven’t done a lot of dating and by my estimations, my mid-40s is when I will be married. I don’t know when I am going to find her,but I’d be crazy not to think that I will find someone, it’s just going to take longer (a lot longer) than I thought.

    You are a great guy,though and the lady who ends up being with you will be very happy,I know it.

  1. Pingback: Happiness Redux « Blog De Omni

Leave a Reply

